Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Driving safety in cities nowadays has become a big worry for people. Habitants' opinions differ as to whether punish driving offenders, or take other measures to promote better driving habits. In my opinion, these ideas should be put into action simultaneously to take effect. On the one hand, driving offences can be considerably reduced by applying strict penalties and fines as people would be more cautious and afraid to pay the price of violating the traffic rules. There are various kind of retributions such as small pine, licence suspension. Such severe faults that cause fatal accidents or dire damages should be imposed a term of imprisonment as a deterrent. Moreover, being drunk or using mobilephone while driving should be banned unconditionally because statistic has shown a huge number of accidents caused by drunk drivers. On the other hand, other steps a can be taken to deter traffic crimes. First of all, it is vitally important to create deep understand Change the form of the verb understanding show examples about the consequences of bad driving on societies. People should be educated properly by opening seminars, training programmes. Thus, taking driving test in under to use private vehicles is a must as well. Secondly, more attention should be paid to safe road design, for example, signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps and road bends can be added to calm traffics, speed cameras can tackle overspeed offenders. Finally, governments can cut down road accidents by invest in public transport and encourage people not to use private vehicles. In conclusion, both establishing penalties and take other actions can successfully improve driving habits as long as people are conscious and carefully adhere to traffic disciplines.