In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increase in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks

It is well known that nowadays, in order to decrease crime rates most cities increase the usage of video cameras in public places. However, some people oppose it, they believe that it affects their privacy. In addition, these measures restrict their individual freedom. I think the advantages of video cameras in public places outweigh the disadvantages. First and foremost, most lawbreakers select public places to the crimes like pocket pick and scamming people. In some,cities major crime activities such as drug dealing are happening in public places and police cannot catch these criminals because these places always fill with people. However, by the use of video cameras police can easily spot these lawbreakers and catch them. For instance, it was founded that 70% of criminals escaped from police before the use of video cameras but after the usage of the video cameras rate reduced to 25% at the present time. Moreover, a number of people sometimes lost their valuables in public places and cannot find these costly items again, However, video cameras help these people to find these lost things by tracing them. In addition, video footage from these cameras solves many crimes that were committed long ago and also provide the evidence in court too. For example, In the year 2021 around 20000 small and big criminals were founded guilty in the court with help of the footage of cameras. In conclusion, I think the benefits like helping the authorities to catch lawbreakers with video cameras in public places apocalypse the drawbacks.