Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace . Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake , regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer . What , in your opinion , should be the main function of a university ?

While many individuals believe that the principal university’s objective is proportionate to pupils the lessons and the abilities required in their jobs, others support that educational centres should teach no matter if the knowledge is related to the workplace. This essay will attempt to explain what should be the main function of a university and why I believe that universities should give access to a large range of knowledge without taking into account if it is related to future jobs. Beginning with the first idea, there is a widespread belief that if students learn and improve on their skills, which will be demanded in the near future, they will be prepared to face all of these situations. In addition, if they do training before the real job, they could learn a lot of aspects such as how to solve a problem or who is responsible in some cases or which are the protocol in some situations. For instance, a young doctor starts his first day at the hospital and has an emergency. If this pupil received the correct learning and skills provided by the university, he could do a good job. Conversely, it is true that currently people usually change for different jobs in short periods of time. Moreover, the population do not know if they will work at the same workplace for the rest of their work lives. For these reasons, I believe that universities should provide a large range of insight due to the fact that learners do not know where they will work. For example, if the same young doctor changes to another floor and starts treating different illnesses they should know how to manage these situations and all the abilities required for that. To conclude, both views have pros and cons as previously mentioned and universities should teach correctly and should provide all the information available in order to prepare the students for a variety of contexts that they will find after the degree.