Some countries are introducing an additional tax on drinks containing high levels of sugar due to the negative effects of consuming large amounts of sugar on people’s health. Should governments impose extra taxes to discourage people from consuming sugary drinks and prevent negative effects on people’s health or should it be people’s own responsibility?

Obesity among the current generation is becoming an overwhelming issue. The government is imposing higher taxes on sugary drinks to combat this problem. Some people support this step while others think that it should be one's obligation to look after his intake. But would a sugar tax really work? In my opinion, a combination of both is required. To start with, although paying a higher amount would affect people with low income,it is evident that it will not prevent affluent people from consuming sugar. For instance, children who get a big amount of pocket money every day will not think about whether they should pay or not for their favourite drink. Therefore, it must be the individual's choice to look after his health needs. In addition, the ruling state may prevent the community from getting health issues through big taxes but big companies will suffer a loss by this step. Instead, the government should be aware population through campaigns so that they can have harmful products responsibly. For example, If citizens would know the harmful effects of drinks, they might choose healthier options instead of it spending money on them. Hence, the issue of being overweight may be solved by a person's will rather than paying a liability. To conclude, even though the government can help but In order to prevent humankind from getting obese, it is necessary that they take care of their own health. Preventing someone by forcing them to pay more might not help especially the wealthy ones.