These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, commonly used personal computers and telephone enable people to work on their jobs more conveniently at home. However, there are both pros and cons of working at home. Whilst acknowledging the drawbacks, this essay will argue that the advantages overweigh the disadvantages. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of doing jobs at home. One of the main positives is that this way can provide people with more free time. What I mean by this is that working at home enables people to waste less time, while avoiding some unnecessary troubles at the same time. For example, when accident occurs, like if his baby got a cold, one who work at home doesn’t have to specially apply for a break and thus waste time on job. This definitely provide great convenience. Another advantage is that, for some jobs that have uncertain worktime. Working at home will be a more reasonable arrangement. For instance, an engineer who is responsible for looking after the server of an international country, he can definitely be able to make a better use of time when not needed. Yet, from the opposite side we can see drawbacks in applying working at home. Without the company of colleagues in the office, one may feel alone and thus lack the passion to finish his job. For some jobs like editors or doctors, working at home may even bring them inconvenience, dealing with their job at workplace will be a more efficient way instead. All things considered, although doing jobs at home have drawbacks like loneliness, it brings advantages such as more flexible work time and better organized schedule. Overall I believe, the positive side of working home overweigh the negative side.