In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is argued that in various countries some people support the idea of using huge amounts of money to build brand-new railways for high-speed trains travelling between different towns. However, others believe that this capital should be better used to enhance and reinforce the existing public transport network. In my opinion, I find very useful the above-mentioned initiative of creating an important high-speed train network when necessary, but it is also my belief that first of all money should be spent to maintain and improve the ongoing infrastructure related to public transportation. Nowadays public transport plays an essential role in our society. Individuals have to travel for many reasons, such as for professional purposes. As a result, high-speed trains are an excellent way of transportation, as the public can easily get to different places much faster than with other more conventional vehicles. For instance, thanks to this type of train people in Spain can travel between Madrid and Barcelona in just two hours and a half. Nevertheless, before developing new infrastructure, the existing one should be improved when required, as this is the most rapid manner of having an efficient public transport network, as well as an effective way of investing money. To illustrate, there are many areas of improvement where this could be implemented, such as renewing vehicles when they get too old (metro, buses or trams), repairing the existing network when technical problems arise, or extending services (as an example of this, trains could travel more frequently). As a consequence of these measures, users of public transport would immensely benefit from these enhancements. To conclude, I believe that both initiatives would have a positive impact and therefore are adequate ways of investing large sums of money. Nevertheless, it is my point of view that before building new railways for innovative trains, the maintenance and improvement of the existing public transport should be guaranteed.