In some nations ,they have the option to import food from all around the globe. To what extent do you think its benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays people can enjoy delicacies from various parts of the world, due to increasing food imports. Developed nations are importing majority of their food supply from third -world countries. In my opinion, it has more drawbacks than advantages. Due to industrialization, western countries are now short of farmers, which made a huge dent in their agricultural production. People are being attracted to high-paying technological jobs, and as a result the farmers became a rare commodity. For example, The United States of America hardly produces anything, as they are unable to find workers to work in the farm. Due to that, they import majority of their food supply, which is a very dangerous situation, as It is dependent on other countries for their needs. Although, importing majority of the food is a disadvantage for a nation, it is beneficial to the people as they can enjoy food from other parts of the world, which might be healthier and improves their health. For Instance, scientists consider Kiwi as a super fruit, which has high amount of micronutrients required for the immunity, which is found only in New Zealand. In conclusion, Importing food from all around the globe can be beneficial to the nation, as citizens can enjoy different cuisines. However, the risk of being dependent on other countries for their own needs is a major drawback.