Some People think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A group of folks are of the opinion that the government’s number one priority is to guarantee the utmost safety of its citizens against lawlessness while some other schools of thought think that the people should be responsible for their personal protection. I, however, stand on the ground that collective effort from both sides is the only way to combat transgression. On the one hand, wrongdoing has become the order of the day in most cities around the world. Some groups of individuals with political influence in the ruling class decorated the scandal with a decent career. Therefore, the government should enact capital penalties on criminal acts perpetrated by individuals and corporate entities either directly or indirectly. For example, countries in Eastern Asia have harsh punishment for any level of atrocity with a direct impact on people or directly violating the law of the land. As a result, the gravity of the punishment metered on criminals discourages folks from engaging in such ungodly acts. On the other hand, citizens cannot fold their arms and expect the legislation to ensure absolute security of lives and properties because the executive cannot deploy policemen to guard every house, store, office, etc. More so, society should play its role in securing itself for its best interest. For example, there are self-protective tools such as pepper spray, and guns for self-defence. Also, communities can install surveillance cameras to monitor unusual activities, as well as private security guards can be employed to watch over private properties, thus, making it potentially difficult for crime to thrive. In conclusion, while some scholars believe that the government should solely take the whole burden of preventing lawlessness, some argued that the common man should be proactive in ensuring personal security. Therefore, individuals and the government should collectively engage in a systematic manner to reduce the rate of misconduct.