Today, many people use the internet and smartphones to transfer money to friends, family, and businesses. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, online payment plays a vital role in financial systems across the world. Therefore, more and more individuals are more likely to transfer money via online platforms instead of using real money. Personally, I am convinced that this is a beneficial trend and my reasons will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, the main benefit associated with transferring money online is convenience. To clarify, in the present day, everyone in society uses smartphones, making transferring money faster and easier than before. For example, the elderly can pay bills by themselves at home with just a click of a button without travelling to banks and waiting in a line for a long time. From this aspect, it is apparent that this technology significantly facilitates human lives. Moreover, e-payment can be eco-friendly which has benefits for the environment. To explain, a cashless society results in a decrease in paper production to make cash, which means there is a reduction in deforestation. The New York Times, a trustworthy international newspaper, has reported that, by the 21st Century, when the advent of internet mobile banking applications existed, the average number of trees needed for annual cash production globally has decreased by almost 3 times. In this respect, electronic money systems can effectively save the wildlife and ecosystems dependent on forests worldwide. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that transferring money via the internet is a promising move, especially in terms of convenience and being environmentally friendly.