Some people say that poor students or students who come from rural areas often find it difficult to have access to university education. What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer. You should write at least 250 words in this space.

In this day and age, it has become the norm for students from rural field or people without sufficient financial resources to give up on a university culture, resulting in a reduction in opportunities for such individuals to find jobs with desirable salaries and to improve the quality of their lives. Such unfortunate circumstances do not befall without cause and for this concerning issue, there should also be countermeasures, as I will humbly suggest below. Since the high cost of university education is one of the major obstacles hindering some students from gaining access to college, a reasonable cutback in tuition fees might be an effective solution to this problem. College students typically have to shoulder the burden of paying for transportation, renting and other daily life necessities. Thus, having a considerable amount of tuition fees added to the list is undoubtedly a considerable challenge which not everyone, especially those bearing financial problems, would take. Under such circumstances, downsizing the university tuition fees for impecunious students would be a great encouragement for them to pursue higher education. Another plausible solution to provide more opportunities for rural students to receive post-secondary education might be to establish more universities in their community. The majority of universities with distinguished reputation are located in big cities. Thus, the trouble of having to travel long distances or live far away from home in order to attend courses might remove the option of going to college from these students ’ future plans. Therefore, setting up universities with standardized lecturers and curriculum in rural areas would probably encourage students to apply for colleges. To sum up, financial problems and a shortage of rural universities are possible explanations why poor students or students from rural areas encounter difficulties in having access to college. It is, therefore, advisable that there should be a reduction in tuition fees for impoverished students as well as the foundation of more colleges in rural areas in order to guarantee comprehensive post-secondary education for anyone who wishes to receive it.