The most important function of music is that it helps people reduce stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout centuries people have considered music as the main means to finding peace and relaxation. I personally partially agree with this opinion as believe that music brings many other benefits to our lives. To start with, it is undeniable that listening to pleasant tunes can contribute to unwinding and reducing stress. For this reason, almost all recreational facilities such as clubs, lounge bars and spas choose to play soft music in the background while receiving and serving guests, helping them to relax and rest from daily stress. And doing this is a common practice around the world, regardless of the social and cultural context be it in extremely religious and conservative tea shop in Middle East, or modern high end restaurant in Central Europe. On the other hand, music has multiple other benefits. One evident example is its extensive use in education. For instance, learning languages through songs is a popular technique in English language teaching. Also, music is exploited while teaching Math in schools. Teachers use the values of musical notes to practice addition and subtraction. Furthermore, doctors often opt for using music therapy while treating not only mentally ill patients but also the ones being treated for such fatal diseases as cancer. According to the research in oncology, patients who listened to music while their chemotherapy recovered much sooner than the ones who did not. Regardless of the questionable viability of such therapy, the positive influence of music is undoubtable. To conclude, even though listening to music is fairly considered as the best way to reduce stress, I strongly believe that there are many other and more important ways to use music, education and medicine being obvious examples.