Many businesses choose to recruit from within their own company rather than sourcing staff from overseas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many employers tend to select staff from their own companies and communities instead of hiring outsiders. In this essay, I would be discussing the pros and cons of the recruitment of employees from within the company and how the drawbacks of this method of selection outweigh the advantages. The mere advantages of recruiting a person from within the organization are, firstly, employers are already familiar with the staff and secondly, businesses can introduce the promotion system in the company. When an employer is already aware of the previous knowledge and experience of his company member, then he would not be afraid of his capabilities and their cooperation level would be high. This approach will motivate other staff members to perform well as they will consider themselves to be in the right place where the chances of growth are sufficient. For example, Getz pharmaceutical company has devised a process for the recruitment of top positions where they promote their internal staff instead of importing an outsider. On the other hand, sourcing a member from overseas based on his qualifications and experience could lead a business to new heights. These employees tend to have more sense of responsibility as compared to the locals as they have a point to prove. Their vast multinational experience proves to be the x-factor in an organization and they push other members also to do their best for the company ’s growth. For instance, Pakistan Cricket Board has hired Mathew Hayden for the T20 world cup in order to get more benefits from his knowledge. Consequently, they performed exceptionally well in that tournament. To put it in a nutshell, although recruiting local members to your business could enhance cooperation and feeling of satisfaction in other members the experience and work ethics of an outsider outclass the advantages significantly.