Some languages are increasingly spoken in different countries. while the usuage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development.

Over the past few decades, interactions between people belonging to different nations are increasing rapidly. Therefore, some languages are spoken more as compared to others while there are a few disadvantages, I think the advantages are far more. Admittedly, the language and culture of any nation are interlinked so, if the use of the mother tongue is going down, it would directly impact the culture and traditions of countries. This might not be linked by few inhabitants and create a disturbance among nations Moreover, the world is full of diversity. And if this diversity decreases, then life on this planet would become very dull and monotonous to live at. On the hand, the use of common or few languages to communicate has several benefits. To exemplify, English has become an international language and is helping a lot in removing language barriers. As a result, trade and travel have become easier in comparison to the past. In addition to this, due to globalisation and public acceptance of an internationally recognised language, employability is increasing yearly. In simple words, it has become easy to get a job in any country. Hence, it is not only in favour of job seekers, but multinational companies are spreading faster. Further, I believe the more the language and cultural differences would disappear, the more the basic unity of mankind would be promoted in the world. To sum up, I would like to reiterate my opinion that the merits of using lesser language will outweigh its demerit, due to the current phase of globalisation.