In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done with this problem?

Despite the improvements relating to agriculture, a considerable number of people are suffering from starvation all over the world. This essay will discuss the causes of such a problem and propose ways to deal with it. There are numerous factors contributing to world hunger. Among the underlying reasons can be poverty, which is mainly the consequence of high unemployment rates, along with ever-increasing prices for food. Not being in the possession of astable income, some people simply can not afford to purchase groceries for their loved ones and themselves. Furthermore, in some developing countries the food is in shortage due to poor infrastructure. It is difficult, sometimes even impossible, to transport goods to the remote areas, located thousands of kilometres away from the cities, because there are no proper roads. Without a constant food supply, people starve, which causes multiple health problems, and rising mortality rates. Turning to the possible solutions for this problem, first of all, it seems vital to provide more job opportunities, so that people would be able to earn money to accommodate their basic needs. Secondly, improving the road conditions, making it possible to access to the far regions of the country, would eliminate the deficiency of eating products. In addition, in large companies it is quite common practice to dispose a great amount of food. In Dunkin Donuts, for example, up to 500 pieces of pastry can be thrown into the garbage after the full working day, because of their policy, which prohibits selling such goods, on the following day. Instead, unsold products could be given to individuals who do not have an opportunity to buy food themselves. In conclusion, the agriculture industry has undergone some improvements, nevertheless,the world is still experiencing hunger, given the poverty and unsuitable environment to transport goods. Although this issue is very serious, it is by no means insurmountable, and can be addressed by adopting the approaches mentioned above.