In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. IS this a positive or a negative development ?

Nowadays In many cities across the globe shopping malls have been constructed. Mushrooming of shopping malls has created survival problems for small store owners. With the advent of malls, and shopping centres small shop owner face survival. It has become survival of the fittest. Small shop owners can' t afford huge rent and cant offer heavy discounts during the festive season. It has created lots of negative effects in general for small shop owners. let's discuss why shopping malls have created a negative impact on small shop owners. Shopping plazas specifically cater to the high end of society who are brand lovers of the different product segments. Whereas small shop proprietors don' t stock much of high-end products in their shops. As they cater to the masses. Small shop owners have limited resources to spend on advertising, branding and publicity of their shops. while people always look for moderate price goods. Small shopowners cant offer heavy discounts on clothing. For example clothes brands like Zara, and H&M offer discounts during Christmas and the new year for their customers. They also conduct stock clearance sales at discounted prices. This means huge crowds of potential at their shops in shopping malls. While few people argue that shopping mall success is measured on the basis of footfalls. but that number doesn' t show how many sales have been done. so crowds at shopping malls do not mean huge sales. Sometimes people do window shopping as well. They don' t like to shop in shopping malls. To conclude, the emergence of shopping malls has resulted in poor sales volume for small shop owners across the globe. They are not able to clear their stocks at times resulting in the closure of shops by them. This leads to an increase in unemployment In the nation. A thriving economy should have flourishing small and mid-sized businesses. My opinion Is that the shopping mall emergence has created negative development.