These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Currently, a great number of people have chance to work at home with the help of their own computer and telephone. It is hard to deny that working at home saves a certain amount of time of transportation, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that the advantages of working at home overweight the disadvantages. However such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as the balance of work and life, friendship of colleagues and the effectiveness of working are concerned, I strongly hold that working at home have more negative impacts than positive. First and foremost, working at home can impinge on employees’ private life, as such an act mix both space and time of work and life together. To be more specific, the starting and ending time become confused, when employees choose to work at home, leading employers to misunderstand the process of project and assign more than 8-hour task. Therefore, the workload is increasing and the balance of work and life is broken. Further more, the fact that the employees who work at home fail to build the relationship with colleagues and supervisors, and finally lose the chance of promotion indicates that working together with others in the same space counts. Take the case of a famous social media company, Twitter, whose new CEO found that the task of the whole company can be completed by only 50 people working in the office while there are 500 employees working at home via Internet. He dismissed them and gave higher salary to those who worked in the office, saving a great number of the output of the company. Nevertheless, a voice arises that since a certain amount of time of transportation can be saved, working at home appears to be more effective. Ironically, teamwork is a sure shoot for increasing productivity and the key fact of teamwork is communicating face to face. Teammates can see others’ face or sketches when working at the same time and the same place, making discussion more convenient and direct. Therefore, the time saved by direct teamwork absolutely overweight the time spent on transportation. In a nutshell, I maintain that the negative impacts of working at home overweight the positive ones as such an act damages the balance of work and life and have no contribution to friendship of colleagues and effectiveness of working. It seems to me that, working together offline to achieve the common goals is a new working trend acknowledged by various great companies.