Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as deser or the antarctic. What are the benefit and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places.

It has been possible that just normal tourists can visit such extreme terrains as the desert or the antarctic. This phenomenon has both benefits and drawbacks, and this essay will discuss both sides. Considering the fact that extreme areas have hardly been open to ordinary people living in urbanized cities, the astonishment that those spots bring to them will be indescribable. Due to this exotic and special experience, many tourists will definitely feel the importance of nature. In addition, since tourism usually makes a major contribution to the local economy, many locals who live away from cities could have a great chance to bring financial abundant in life. For example, the desert was not a popular tourist spot whatsoever in the past. However, it is now considered a very unique place to visit with sandboarding and camel riding. Thus, this phenomenon benefits not only tourists, but also local people. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages accruing from this issue. Firstly, the reason why people could hardly visit places that have extreme conditions was that they were life-threatening areas. Even though technological advances have been able to make it possible for the public to visit those places safely, it does not mean that they are as safe as other tourist spots. For instance, there is a much higher chance of frostbite in the antarctic, no matter how insulated a jacket one may wear. As long as there is a possibility of getting indelible damage, it should be considered seriously. To sum up, though extreme areas such as deserts are undoubtedly critical places, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, because it is of great value that an individual can experience nature which they would never have if they had been born a hundred years earlier than they were.