some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether we should apply ourselves to prevent climate change or just adapt to such a situation. Although people might have to sacrifice during the process of minimising the impact from climate change, this essay will argue that we cannot live with it and have to take action, using the example from Oxford University to demonstrate points. Admittedly, compared to living with the hothouse effect, if trying to curb such a situation, members of society might experience some inconvenience and more financial losses. For example, Governments may need to increase the taxes on vehicles in order to reduce the emission of exhausted fumes. As a result, car owners would have to either spend more time on transport by cycling or taking public transport, or spend more on driving their private cars. However, taking such aforementioned sacrifices is still better than just ignoring the greenhouse effect. That is because not only will climate change lead to higher temperatures, but it will also cause extreme weather conditions and threaten the living of our species. For instance, recent research by Oxford University shows that hothouse effects have dramatically increased the possibility of tsunamis and tornados which may take thousands of lives in a short period. Therefore, adapting to climate change is not a wise choice for our future. In addition, preventing climate change is also an effective approach to getting rid of the reliance on traditional resources. In order to cut down the use of fossil fuel, which is actually the main reason for the greenhouse effect, scientists have developed new energy such as wind and solar-generated power as replacements. If still adhering to traditional energy and letting it exacerbates the hothouse effects, people would face the situation of energy shortage in the foreseeable future. Consequently, we might not be able to eat ice cream and use air-conditioning during summertime. In conclusion, investing efforts in relieving climate change is a necessity for the sake of our future living. It is predicted that scientific research in related areas will increasingly grow in importance.