Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The transition from childhood to adult life is never an easy process. It is also never the exact same for two individuals, even if they grow up in the same household. There are many factors that affect how prepared can a person be to overcome the obstacles that appear later in life. An interesting factor to examine is the level of wealth of the said individual’s family during his childhood. Parents that are financially troubled usually have a mindset of constantly being mindful about their spendings, budgeting very carefully and often having less than what they want or even what they need, for the sake of covering basic expenses. This is mindset that inevitably gets passed on to the children. Living like this and being in difficult situations from a young age, individuals become familiar with common adult problems before even turning into adults. Financial stability, on the other hand, equals to a safety net for young people. Surely, being smart about one’s choices and capable of efficient money management can and should be taught from a young age. Wealthy parents often have the luxury to shield their children from adult issues that should not concern a child, and even cover for their mistakes, if they are willing to, decreasing the consequences of their bad choices. A point worth mentioning is that people who live a wealthy life, are often able to do so thanks to their own skills on situation assessment and problem solving. These are life skills that their children can definitely learn from. Overall these point alone are not enough to determine who would be better equipped to face the problems of adult life, as it heavily depends on how the parents chose to guide their children based on any given situation.