Some employers are giving more value on hiring people with good social skills apart from good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that social skills are just as crucial as good qualifications for success at work.

In recent times, things that matters are the skills of the workers. Companies are giving more preference to brilliant social skills over education. In this essay, I agree with the statement that skills are needed to stay longer in the corporate world. To begin with, there are several points supporting the argument. One of the main reasons is skills make you reach new heights. To elaborate, any employee can learn new skills while working with the company, there are as such no limitations that will stop them to add something new to themselves. The more individuals learn more they will get better than their colleagues as they can get better salaries and promotions. For instance, the famous newspaper BBC reported that over 55% of employees get better wages after adding new skills as compared to workers passing out from good universities. Furthermore, companies are making their employees enrol on the new course to improve their skillset. In other words, big corporates want their existing workers to add new things to make themselves better and stay up to date. To add more, the duration to learn a new skill isn't too long and the time taken, can be over within the time frame of 3-4 weeks. For example, UpGrad provides different courses to learn new skills at cheap prices. Therefore, it has been said that learning shouldn't be stopped at any point in time. In conclusion, I agree with the notion because better skills will make you grow in your career and learn something new at every phase of life and companies are supporting employees with better skills rather than education from a better institute.