In many countries it is very easy to apply for and be given credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debt they cannot pay back. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is hard to deny that credit cards find their way into our lives nowadays and we rely on them heavily as they are quite convenient to use. However, some claim that there is a risk of not being able to pay back, simply because of the easiness to loan money from them. As far as I am concerned, this statement suffers from logical and factual issues, and I hardly agree with that. To begin with, quite often the maximum amount of funds available for a credit card matches the financial status of its holder. When applying for a product in the bank, people are asked to provide several personal information, including salaries and assets owned. With that being mentioned, quite possibly the credit limit is set at a level that one can maintain the balance without having difficulties. As a result, it is unlikely for people to spend that much within one single billing cycle. Apart from that, in today's society, people are more educated and are more aware of managing personal assets. Most people are more conscious of financial management in recent years so that they would avoid any unnecessary shopping. This actually helps prevent from spending the amount that exceeds their affordability. Hence, from the aspect of mindset, being not able to pay back is less likely to happen. In conclusion, it is understandable that many ones have a concern about the way credit cards work, especially how simple we could use money from them. Nevertheless, due to the aforementioned reasoning, I do not agree that those disadvantages are that significant to be worried about.