In many countries traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods. This is having a negative effect on both families and societies.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, international fast food is gaining more popularity and gradually developing into a staple diet in many countries. In my opinion, this trend has injurious impacts both on our family and society. There is no doubt that International fast food affords people an alternative to extricate themselves from making complicated traditional food, which is particularly beneficial for people with busy lifestyles. However, the problems arising from this worrying trend should be taken into considerable consideration. First and foremost, fast food culture has a detrimental impact on family bonding over meals. Traditionally, people sit around a table enjoying locally traditional cooking, which provide a great chance for people to communicate face to face and improve mutual understanding. However, many families nowadays choose to go out for fast food, spending less time eating at home with their families. As a consequence, the interactions between family members would decline and family bonds might weaken. From a broader perspective, the popularity of fast food across the globe brings negative consequences to societies. Researches have demonstrated that the trans-fat and sugar contained in fast food affects daily energy levels and triggers health hazards such as heart disease and obesity. Thus, the government is required to invest a considerable amount of money on the national medical system, giving rise to a budget cut on other aspects such as education and technology. Moreover, the proliferation of international fast food has changed our eating habits and undermined the traditional culture. Traditional diets bring us diversity in ingredients, flavours and cooking styles, and epitomize the unique character of different regions. With more people getting accustomed to convenience foods, traditional foods are losing their significance. As a result, traditional food including those sophisticated recipes will unavoidably vanish. In conclusion, although international fast food is widely popular and taking the place of traditional foods, it serves as deleterious effects on families and societies. Therefore, the government should take effective measures to revert the alarming trends of eating fast food.