Some people believe women are better leaders than men. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Deciding on who leads better – males or females has been a highly debateable issue for the past decades. Some people believe more in female leaders, others support only males. I partially agree with both. While I understand the rationale behind these opinions, I feel that being a leader largely depends on personal qualities and intellect, rather than a gender. Certainly, it could be argued that women are stronger leaders than men due to their better development interpersonal skills. For instance, their verbal communication and body language in general are a lot more impressive than that of the men. In addition, they highly attuned to the feelings of the people around them and relate to people in such a way that makes them unforgettable and irresistible. Evident examples are Rosa Parks who inspired the civil movement and led to the defeat of racism; or Indira Gandhi, who fought not only for the establishment of peace and liberation of women in her country. Women have proved that they can not only lead well but are history-making politicians. However, these women succeeded because of their intelligence and perseverance, and not because of their gender. Men, on the other hand, have proven throughout the history of civilization that they deserve the right to be called successful leaders. However, similarly to their female counterparts, they got that privilege because of their qualities of being courage, vision and commitment. It has been argued for centuries that men have certain inherent features such stamina and resilience. Regardless of certain scientific evidence supporting this argument, women have proved that same qualities and therefore, are equal to men. Nevertheless, even in our times significantly bigger numbers of men tend to appear in leading positions then women. And one explanation to this could be social and cultural factors. In certain cultures males have always had more freedom to dedicate themselves to their careers, while women have had to choose the lifestyle depended on them or dictated by families. As a result, in almost 195 states all over the world only 30% of countries are led by female politicians. To conclude, regardless of the social difference, I strongly believe that being a good leader is defined by the character and strong will and not by a gender.