The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, in order to meet growing consumer demands, many companies have augmented the volume of manufacturing of their products. The environment is affected by the rise in the volume of pollution that has been caused during the production process. In my opinion, the government and respective authorities should inspect and impose fines on transgressors. To begin with, we cannot deny the fact that, a large quantity of chemical liquid is used to produce products that are used by people daily such as soaps and shampoos and afterwards, they are released into the water bodies. The increased volume of production means, a greater level of environmental degradation. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Oxford shows that some industries in Germany which make hair gels release toxic water into a nearby lake. This is the reason why manufacturing more products is directly proportional to more environmental pollution. Secondly, it is the responsibility of the government to impose some restrictions and penalties and release environmental guidelines to protect the ecological conditions in a good manner. For example, 2 years ago, the Canadian government ordered limitations on the number of consumer items produced and manufactured and consequently, fines of up to 2 million dollars were collected from each lawbreaker. As a result, the situation has gradually improved. To conclude, based on my analysis, I affirm that polluting nature should not be tolerated for any reason and therefore, factories that engage in such activities should be held responsible by the state administration.