Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the twentieth one centuries, Smartphones play a huge contribution in our daily lives. Due to the fact that they are easy to access and useful for many people, smartphones became undetachable from our daily lives which widely affects people, including children. At the present, parenting doesn't look the same as it was in the 1960s. Some children got smartphones before they got a book. Children spend many hours on their smartphones only because Their parents are irresponsible and ignorant of what might happens to children if they spend too much time on it. In this case, parents might think that smartphones can be their child's friend. Basically, they let a child be with a smartphone in order for them to be free from parenting such as spend quality time with their children, etc. In my opinion on this matter, I believe that it is going to be a bad impact rather than a good one. It will probably be a negative development for this young generation who grows up with smartphones, and not their father, mother, or/and some proper activities for children like playing outside. The children might be facing some kind of slow learning, being ADHD, or developing some undesirable traits such as being anti-social, etc. In conclusion, because of the bad approach of parenting, children spend too much time on smartphones rather than going outside to play, etc. And It is a bad development in my opinion. Children being on a phone all the time can cause so much trouble.