Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Many people believe the government should not be wasting money on the arts; instead, money should be spent wisely to reduce poverty, maintain affordable healthcare system and subsidise newly entrepreneurs for better domestic economy. I somewhat disagree with these views because I believe arts have been playing an important role from the very first stage of the civilization of human on Earth. This essay will cover my points of view before coming to a reasoned conclusion. It’s crucial to imply art takes many forms in our daily life, including painting, music, sculpture, architecture, etc. When people consider something as aesthetic being, that’s a work of art. Art is also known as a tool to express individualism and socially constructed virtues at the time a work of art was made; for example, people in ancient and medieval eras couldn’t explain natural phenomenons such as thunder, rain and flood, hence religious arts were made to express their belief of supernatural forces that might be controlling their life. Without art, everything would go bland and tasteless since everyone has the same concept of shape, form, colour, texture, tone and space, which are the components composing art. Art also plays as a tool to connect people regardless of socio-economic statuses and the progress of art reflects the prosperity of culture. For example, Jazz was invented by black people who were living in poverty and had to work hard to earn money, as the ultimate form of entertainment to light up their spirits through those dark days and soon it became the sensation of decades. Another example is Hallyu or The Korean Wave, which is the term referring to the invasion of Korean culture to other countries, in consequence boosting Korean economy and becoming the determinant of tourism success. In other words, investing in arts is as economically profitable as investing in companies and it provides a sustainable promotion of culture and economy as well. In conclusion, it’s undeniable that there are still many emergent problems need to be solved for better living conditions and extending life expectancy. However, encouraging arts plays a significant role in the development of humanism and enriching cultural values, indirectly bringing prosperity of one’s nation and breaking the comfort bubble to bring people closer.