The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people hold the view that the authorities spend money irrationally funding arts, musical concerts and so on whereas it would be better to use the finances to improve public infrastructure. I am inclined to agree with this statement because there are quite a few countries which do not have developed public transport systems or water and gas available for citizens and hence it would definitely be more appropriate to invest finances in public services instead of arts. Even though art is an important part of humans' lives that enables individuals to express themselves and broaden their horizons. The notions will be examined in the essay. To begin with, despite arts being a significant part of society’s life which gives the opportunity to people to be creative and entertain others, public infrastructure is a cornerstone of humans' existence. For instance, it would be next to impossible for adults to work without electricity in the contemporary world and do chores without a water supply let alone create art. Thus, if public services did not work properly mankind would be stuck in the past era. Thus, arts would not be relevant at all because people had to make considerable effort to survive. Therefore, it might be true that it is probably better to allocate finances to public infrastructure at least in certain countries instead of the arts. For example,statistics have shown that the subway in Mumbai, India is dangerous to use because thousands of commuters die there every year on their way to work or home. Consequently, sometimes it is crucial to allocate finances to public transport system development instead of music or theatre because citizens' lives depend on this. In conclusion, although different kinds of arts are essential, public infrastructure is highly important to citizens. Thus, it is paramount to spend money on civil services in the first place because art is secondary in terms of people’s comfort.