Due to the influence of worldwide media such as television and computers, the gap between cultures is narrowing. The introduction of this 'global culture' is of great benefit to the world. To what extent do you agree with this viewpoint?

Nowadays, because of the improvement of technology, we can easily communicate and interact with people in different countries. It is argued that due to this situation, the gap between cultures is getting smaller and smaller, and people around the world will also benefit from this circumstance. In my opinion, I think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. There are some people argued that because of the increasing use of worldwide media, the traditional cultures face some difficulties. The reason is that the younger are more likely to be attracted by foreign cultures through media, including foreign food, fashion, and also customs. Thus, the traditional ones may be forgotten by new generation and cannot be passed on. Moreover, the societies might come through some cultural conflicts. For example, the cultural beliefs are might suppressed by other countries’ beliefs. Although, there are some cons, more people think that the concept of “global culture” benefits the world. Firstly, by learning and understanding different cultures, people can broaden their horizons and also achieve plenty of knowledges that are very different from their culture. Secondly, living on the global village together can help to reduce racism, prejudice, and also war. The more people worldwide know about each other, the more gap will be narrowing. In conclusion, there are some conflicts that may destruct the local culture. Nevertheless, overall the better outcomes exceed the drawbacks, as long as people have open-mind and are willing to accept new things.