Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two perspectives. One who believes that global events like the Olympic Games are important and they help bring countries as a whole but the counterpart thinks that it's a waste of money, besides this can be utilised elsewhere on more important problems. We will discuss the views of both parties in the next paragraphs. Occasions like the Olympic games are a waste of resources. The other half of the society says that using the taxpayer's money on making these sports successful, is the wrong utilisation of their money. For example, the 2008 Olympic Games is the biggest blunder of the Chinese Govt. Furthermore, it lead to a corruption scandal which attracted the attention of international media. In their point of view, instead of focusing on mega sports, we should use the funds to make our livelihood better. Global events bring nations together. Many people believe that the collaboration of sportsmen on the big stage with larger audiences helps countries to develop relations better. In addition to that, it opens the doors for business. For instance, playing these tournaments has brought states closer on many fronts. Likewise, arranging the 2022 sports edition in South Africa helped their economy. Hence, one part of the community agrees with the given idea. To conclude the given topic, in my opinion, there are more advantages over disadvantages of arranging these types of tournaments. Moreover, this helps us to collaborate with other internationals and understand cultures from all around the globe. Also, it brings employment to the surroundings which should be kept in mind.