Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Several People nowadays state that children would be better off learning their second language in elementary school than in junior high school. In my opinion, learning a foreign language in elementary school is still more practical, although there are some negative impacts but they still can be overcome. To begin with, there are two advantages to making children study a foreign languages in their primary school time. First, based on research children who are in the age of primary school learn faster than teenagers. In this age, they can keep any new information faster and it will store in their memory longer. For example, the Indonesian government make a policy for all elementary schools to provide an English lessons and a result many students in this stage are already have basic in English after they graduate. The next advantage, the lesson in elementary school has less pressure than the middle high school which good conditions to learn a new things. In junior high school, the student will face a complex subjects such as science and even a complex mathematic lesson that will take more time of the student, so most of the students will not concern with subjects such as language. As the result, studying a new language is much better in primary school because this stage is what we can say is a golden time for studying another language. Besides the benefits of studying a new language in primary school, there are also drawbacks that we need to concern about. The first issue is most of the teachers in elementary school do not have a higher level of education to teach in a foreign language. This situation can make the student will only get the basics and it will only make the children need to have a further lessons to get fluently in another language. For example, in Indonesia most of teachers in these schools do not have a proper education level in giving English lessons, so after these students graduate they only know the basics of English and need to learn more in junior high school. Another issue is children in elementary school psychologically do not understand the value of learning another language. This phenomenon happens because children at that age are still labile and they will only do what they think is fun for them, so it will be hard for a teacher to teach them appropriately. Therefore, these drawbacks still need to be concern by all people to make the children can learn better in elementary school. In conclusion, even with all of the shortcomings, it is still better to give childrenknowledge about another language since it is easier to accept by the student and there are few obstacles that children must face in this stage. Hence, the government must find a way to solve the problem of the lack of qualifications of teachers in elementary school, so that in the future all of the students in primary school can learn a foreign language much better.