Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. This has more advantages or disadvantages?

People tend to spend less and less time on leisure activities due to working long hours. While it is beneficial in some ways, I believe it is detrimental in other ways. On the one hand, there are ample reasons to justify why people choose to spend more time at work. To begin with, employees prefer to work long hours due to the competitive job market. They can get more work done and boost their performance. As a result, they may get a raise and be promoted in the company. Secondly, companies make their workers work more without paying extra in order to maximize their profits. The aim of a company is to make a profit. While it is unethical, it is a common practice. On the other hand, a busy working schedule has more negative impacts than we thought. Workers who do not get enough rest have higher risks at poor physical health as well as mental health. Stress associated with heavy workload is becoming more and more common. They might not be able to concentrate. The impact can be seen in low productivity and efficiency. For example, a semi-truck driver is likely to cause an accident if he or she feels fatigue and tired. In addition, spending time for leisure activities can unwind pressure from work and make people happy. They will feel more satisfied and content with their working life. In conclusion, there are more disadvantages for staffs to work a lot without getting proper rest despite the personal income boost and higher company profit. Companies should prove a proper workload for their workers.