It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of old people than young people in the future in some countries. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, more countries face with ageing society problem. Hence, it predicts that the senior population is going to excess than the young-aged population in the following years in several nations. Some people perceive whether this is a favourable trend or an adverse trend. The essay agrees that this is a negative consequence and will depict that heavy medical costs and the shortage of labour are two prime terrible outcomes. To begin with, lots of developed countries have an emphasis on social welfare, which contributes to the gigantic debt of caring for aged citizens. In other words, people who are getting old have to spend plenty of money on medical care so as to extend their life span. However, all of these costs are paid by the country. For example, Japan is an ageing society, so their national expenditure occupies one to third of their senior medical costs in terms of excess senior residents in their country. Hence, numerous old people trigger the high social allowance for continents so as to take care of their health. Secondly, if crowds are too old, a territory is lack adults to work in order to support economic development. That is to say; middle-aged inhabitants are the main labour force for countries. If the senior population occupies the majority in a nation, it is detrimental to the country due to not having enough workers to earn income. For instance, a primary factor in supporting a country's GDP is the sufficient work-aged population who are eligible to earn a salary. Thus, if society is in the ageing stage, it has a concern about insufficient people to support its economy. In conclusion, a large number of medical expenses for the elderly and an insufficient workforce are dominant consequences for countries with a high portion of ageing citizens. Due to the aforementioned reasons, I believe it is an adverse trend. I suggest that the government should monitor their demographics so as to prevent this issue.