Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think?

Some people believe that teaching about international news and affair to secondary school children are beneficial and should be included in the school curriculum while other believe that its a waste of time and should not be included. In my opinion, children have more options to be aware of world affairs outside school rather than during school hours, therefore, therefore I agree with the latter group of people. According to many researchers, secondary school cohorts are considered a growing age group and need appropriate brain nurturing. Therefore, children need to teach subjects which broaden their horizons of knowledge such as Mathematics, history and science subjects during their school time because these subjects can make students more mentally equipped to handle international happenings responsibly without being aggressive. Moreover, after school, children have lots of opportunities to make themselves aware of what's happening around the world. For example, they can update themselves by the medium of television, newspaper either print or electronic or even by word of mouth. Therefore, there is no need to waste time on such affairs in the school. Secondly, Children already have loads of subjects to study in secondary school such as maths, science, history, geography, languages and many more, therefore to add one more subject to the curriculum will be added load on their shoulders which is unfair and create more pressure on them. As a result, when children come back from school they won't have enough time left to play and socialise with their friends and family which is deemed necessary for children's physical and mental well-being. To conclude,I believe adding 'international news' as a subject for secondary students is a waste of time and will create more stress on them and on the contrary maths and science are important subjects that are essential to teaching in the first place.