Writing Task 2 Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

It is true that the increase in the touristry industry, today, affects local residents and the environment. However, some people believe that improvement in tourism could be beneficial for the economy. In this essay, I will discuss both statements and give my personal opinion. Let's begin with the disadvantages of touristry. Nowadays, the majority of individuals are travelling to different places. And this causes an increase in negative impacts in these areas. For example, while foreign visitors come to see the historical buildings or to picnic near the forests, they may throw different waste. And this in turn leads to ecological pollution. Undoubtedly, I believe that this behaviour is unacceptable and governments in all countries should protect their national landmarks. On the other hand, the main benefit of travel is contributing to the financial progress of the town, city or nation which can help to create jobs. For instance, the Louvre Museum in Paris, France is the most visited art museum which is provided jobs for around 100.000 workers to function properly. However, touristry is not the most important source of employment and the authorities should focus to preserve their destinations. To sum up, although travel is one of the good ways way to boost the economy, this is also a threat to the environment and local population.