Many parents are unhappy about the fact that the violence content in computer games, TV programs and other leisure activities is influencing their children. What are the harmful effects of such violent programs on children? What are the solutions of this problem?

Most parents are unhappy about the fact that the violence in television programs and video games have made their children violent. This essay will discuss the detrimental effects of media violence on children and suggest some solutions. The first and the foremost reason why these violent games and programs have negative impacts on kids is that they make a child aggressive. To elaborate, when a kid watches these programs which are full of aggression, they try to imitate the same behaviour that they watch on television as they are gullible. An article published in the Times claimed that kids who watch violent programs are more aggressive than those who watch non-violent shows. Secondly, children become fearless. To be specific, in these games, players do illegal activities without any fear and it motivates them to engage themselves in bad activities as they get the message from the games that it is accepted in society too. A report by an international organization proved that violent games are responsible for the increase in cases of bullying by school kids. Therefore, these violent games are dangerous for children. However, this problem can be solved by taking some measures. One of them is that parents must become more vigilant and closely monitor what their children watch on the television or on the computer. They need to educate their kids and involve them in social work if they observe bad behaviour in them. It helps them to become docile and develop empathy for weaker sections of society. Also, the government and regulators must ensure that these violent programs are not telecast during prime time when all family members, including children, watch television. To conclude, watching violent content makes children aggressive and fearless. These behaviours can be tackled by parental vigilance and restrictions on the broadcasting of these programmes.