Some believe that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while other think it is more important to reward students who show progress. Discuss both views and express your own opinion?

Appreciation of students in the school will motivate them when moving forward in all aspects. Rewards and appreciations are memorable remarks in students during their school life. However, there is a discussion based on two different viewpoints as students have to be rewarded based on their academic results or based on their growth. We will discuss both views from the following and I would share my personal viewpoint on the same. On the one side of the argument, there is a viewpoint that the best academic outcome should be rewarded. Students are with so many capabilities and different levels of memory and analytical capacities. There are students with significant levels of IQ and intelligent level that lead to achieving any boundaries of academic qualification. When considering the academic rewards, it is kind of limiting students and capturing only the subject's knowledge based on an examination. As an example, the first three Sri Lankans are rewarded based on the streamwise results during the General Certificate of Education Advance level examination. Although this examination evaluates the subject knowledge the students will be highly motivated and it will a base for their higher education path. However, another side of the argument is that students should be rewarded based on their progress. Although, most students are capable in academic aspects there are students with hidden talents and capabilities that should also be rewarded and appreciated. Reaching the highest levels through sports, dancing, arts, debating and innovative skills also should be rewarded. The progress of a student can be evaluated based on different levels such as academic progress, personality, other talents achievements and presentation of themselves. As a result, the highest ranked in the academic qualification also can be a participant in the Olympic games in the future who can be pride to the nation. In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their own merits. On,balance how I feel that it is important to reward students based on both academic results and their progress since students have different shades and every shade has a value and everyone should be appreciated. Students are the future of the world. Therefore, students should be shown their colours based on every angle and all of them should be rewarded.