More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits from this, the communities or these young people?

Increasingly more young people from industrialized nations these days are travelling to underdeveloped parts of the world as volunteers to help with education and construction. While there are certain reasons that can explain their motivation, I personally believe that this phenomenon is of great benefit to both young people themselves and the communities they work in. Perhaps the primary motive behind young people's interest in such unpaid work is to make a difference in the world we live in. By helping erect houses or educating children in struggling countries, these volunteers feel that they are contributing to bettering someone's life, and this is what makes them feel happiness. Yet another reason for this can be a personal gain; some want to volunteer for the sake of improving their educational or career opportunities. For example, top universities like Harvard and Cambridge receive many thousands of applications from students with excellent academic background and straight-As, yet they only accept a small proportion of them who stand out with what they have done extra, such as volunteering. The same can be said about the job application process; in other words, volunteering experience can give a person a chance to develop a competitive edge over others. Unpaid service of this kind is extremely beneficial for both recipient communities as well as the volunteers. It is true that literacy levels in many Third World countries are low, and these countries are in dire need of education by volunteering. Since governments are simply unable to provide it themselves, assistance by volunteers in this area is going to help improve life conditions of those living in destitution in the long run and make the world a better place for everyone to live in. Apart from communities, free service providers also reap advantages from this experience by boosting their education and employment opportunities, making a positive impact, and most importantly, deriving a sense of accomplishment and thus satisfaction. In this sense, it is a win-win. The reasons that drive young people to do unpaid community service in poorer nations are, in my view, humanitarian and personal. This deed, however, is advantageous for both parties involved.