Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Do the Advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Some individuals suggest that graduate students travel or work for several years rather than going to study at university. After consideration, I believe that the drawbacks of travelling or working outside after school far outweigh any benefits that this trend brings. The reason why travelling or working is beneficial for graduates is that they probably have practical experience with new cultures. Compared to those who study domestically, the ones studying abroad are exposed to many cultures around the world, thereby they will explore new knowledge. Another very reason is that working after school will likely hone their skills in a particular field and also be financially independent. In other words, graduate students can accumulate large experiences after training in the workplace, thus they have some salary to reach financial freedom without their parents’ payment. Despite this, the drawbacks of travelling and working for graduates are many and varied. One of the most reasons is that travelling consumes a lot of money that is invested in students ’ studying. Thus, it is likely that it creates a financial burden for some families that have children studying abroad. Moreover, students who work after school probably have unstable finances, meaning that they do not have a main job and will be unemployed if a company needs a person better in that field. Besides, students studying at university will have a degree after graduation because they learn in-depth knowledge of a certain career. Therefore, they will have more chances to apply to companies with high salaries and are easy to promote, which will make them high living standards. In conclusion, although graduate students travelling or working have disadvantages including unstable living, I assume that going to study at university is more advantageous.