Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practise traditional medicine claim that it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view?

In the present times, medical science has made significant progress, especially in the pharmaceutical field. Therefore, traditional mendication is usually considered to be a thing of the past. Although most of the traditional medical remedies have been debunked, there are still some which contain authentic scientific reasoning and hence can not be completely discarded. In this essay, I will discuss the opinions suggested by both sides and explain why I disagree before my conclusion is reached. Proponents of the former view, i.e, the significance of modern remedies believe that it is backed by research and experimentation. In addition, it is scientifically proven and thoroughly tested. Also, the benefits it contains are rock solid. For instance, in recent times, the vaccine for coronavirus was thoroughly tested and showed promising results in labs and case studies before it was actually adopted. They also claim that practices such as blood-lettings, mostly applied in the middle ages, used to cause more harm than good. The advocates of the latter opine, i.e, the importance of traditional medication suggest that orthodox medication is backed not only by the science of its times but is also supported by years and years of medical practice and tends to produce results so significant that it can not be ruled out. For example, even in the present age, we tend to suggest ginger tea to people suffering from a bad throat. In conclusion, I believe that both medications have their due share of benefits. Furthermore, both must be adopted with caution. I agree with the former view and believe that medication of any kind must be chosen with caution and appropriate scientific proof before adoption. It is also a good idea to take advice from a medical professional who has sufficient knowledge in the medical field before taking any medicine, and above all, common sense should be practised before choosing a medical remedy.