Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Raising children is no doubt one of the most challenging and rewarding tasks we, as humans, can undertake. It is important that we strive to do our best in this as our descendants will become our future leaders. Some say that as caretakers, we should push our young to participate in team events when they are not at school, while others believe it is necessary for them to learn how to entertain themselves without parental support. Personally, I believe youths should receive encouragement but, in this essay, I will look at both sides of this argument. Looking at the first side of the argument, there are some clear benefits of well-structured activities to join. Firstly, if the parents choose these events, they can feel secure that their children will be in a safe environment. Usually, when a local council or a private enterprise organises group events, it must follow rigorous health and safety regulations. In this way, the parent does not need to worry about youngsters' well-being and can go about their day stress-free. Secondly, the young, especially those who are much younger, do not know what options are available for them in terms of keeping themselves entertained. A parent has more experience and can guide the child and offer them that, by themselves, they wouldn’t be able to do or even know about including horse riding or going to a museum. On the other side of the discussion, there are those who think that juveniles must learn to fend for themselves as early as possible and, therefore, it is important to allow them to understand how to keep themselves entertained without relying on others to do so. Again, there are some clear pros to this. One of the primary points is, via this way, youths can learn about independence. This will be a great advantage for them in later life. That is, as they face challenges, they will know that they are strong enough to deal with and resolve any issue. Further to this idea, it is important to give adolescents the freedom to explore their own enthusiasm. Parents must not assume that they know what the child likes to do and must, hence, let them explore the world and what they love by themselves. By doing so, the child can develop interests and hobbies that they are genuinely attracted by. In conclusion, both sides of the discussion have their merits, from keeping the child safe to fostering independence. However, overall, I totally agree with the idea that children need guidance and support and that, therefore, we should encourage them to join pre-arranged activities.