Air transport is increasingly used to transport fruits and vegetables to other countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. Some people say this is good but other believe the use of air transport for this purpose is not justified. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Producers tend to deliver products by using air transport due to their higher demand. Some people believe that this transportation method of fruits and vegetables can not be justified whilst others do not. In this essay, I will discuss both views in detail and provide my own opinion at the final. On one hand, aviation transportation is the fastest way compared to cargo ships through the sea and using trucks or trains on the ground. And also, the customer receives fresh and fully nutritious fruits and vegetables rather than keeping long days inside freezers. For example, if a certain type of fruit can keep a very limited number of days without destroying its nutritious, this is the best way to transport it for a long distance in which the shipment time or the truck travelling time is high. On the other hand, flying an aeroplane is a highly costly process resulting in to increase in the unit rate of the product in the supermarket which will be a product for limited customers who can afford the price. Accordingly, the price will go high due to less demand for the item according to the basic economic concept. Furthermore, air pollution will be high increasing the number of flying. Therefore, transportation using aeroplanes is not much suitable for delivering food items because of the high unit rates, air pollution, etc. To conclude, the fruits and vegetables delivering by using aeroplanes fastest and helping to keep the quality, but this is a highly costly process and effect pollution of the atmosphere. I believe that its drawbacks overweigh the benefits. Moreover, It would be recommended that the cultivation of these foods must be encouraged to overcome this matter with the latest technologies such as farming inside greenhouses, etc.