It is better for the students to live away from the home during their university studies rather than staying with their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people think that students ought to live alone during their tertiary education, it is believed by other that it is better for them to remain living at home. In my opinion, students benefit from living alone in certain ways like they become independent and learn how to manage their expenses. First and foremost, one of the main reasons why it is beneficial for pupils to live away from their home is that they become totally self-dependent of their parents and able to think for themselves. To elaborate, university is a time for students to spread their wings and try new ideas or ways of thinking and learn to cope with life changing decisions. For example, by living alone, without the interference of their parents, they develop rounder, decisive characters and able to function well in the world. Therefore, it is quite advantageous to live away from family while studying at university. Another merit to learners fleeing the parental nest is that they learn to manage money. Put simply, most students see university as a stepping stone to adulthood and so by learning to live on a budget, they develop the skills needed once they are earning a salary and balancing their finances. For example, living in a rented property also comes with responsibilities for learners such as paying rent on the time and many more, and this further helps in upcoming lives for them. Hence, residing away from home comes with so many responsibilities which makes a student better person. In conclusion, although it might not be feasible for all students, living away from parents helps university mentees develop strength of character and useful life skills such as managing expenses needed for when they enter working lives.