It is a fact that there are a lot of languages in this world, but every year several of the languages just disappear. A group of people believe that the extinction of some languages is not a crucial problem since communication will be more effective with fewer languages.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

If some language dies out and we are having fewer languages, in my opinion, that does not mean it is a raising problem for its nation as long as they have their own way of communication, firstly among themselves, and secondly with other nations. Subsequently, it could be an advantage on the other hand. First, the reason why a language turns out to be extinct, is either it is an extremely ancient language or it is not flexible enough to cope with life-movement in other words. The notion may sound sad, however, nothing really could be done in this regard, as evolution takes place and plays its magic in order to provide some other intelligent alternatives. Additionally, opposite to what many may think that it is a baulk at identity, I reckon the loss of a language opens a channel for the identity to express itself as a new version. For example, I came from a country with a very famous and dead language which is “the ancient Egyptian language ”. This language could not resist being a rigid tool in front of modernity. Alternatively, Egyptians developed the current dialect which is a mixture of the ancient language, Turkish, Persian and Arabic, with standard Arabic being the official language. In my view, this has enabled us of having an efficient communication and learning process, as Arabic is more resilient when it comes to translation and education. Furthermore, having fewer languages also supports the idea of easier transmission of information. As I mentioned above in the previous example, having one language as a mutual language that many people and communities can speak, has paved the way for fluent communication and connection. It is undeniable, if each community maintained merely their own dialect over the years, it would have been an obstacle for everyone. Since in order to deal with the external world - at the end of the day- you need to learn the most common and popular language, hence more time and effort are spent. For instance, different societies within one country, such as India, who speak different languages need eventually to learn English to communicate. Likewise, European nations communicate mainly in English. In conclusion, the loss of a tongue is a blessing in disguise. Although some people may feel it is a setback, it is a step forward in terms of growing a better expression of identity, and a smarter connection with the rest of the world.