Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending in health education and preventive measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that preventing from being sick is more beneficial than treatment. Governments by increasing the budget for training healthy lifestyles and investing in this sector will be benefited rather than spending on caring for and curing patients. Firstly, investing in health education and public awareness, help to reduce diseases and save money. Costs of treatment and hospitals are high in most countries, additionally, treatment has a huge cost for governments too. Because governments want to equip hospitals with sophisticated medical technologies and equipment. Therefore, these tools put a huge burden on governments. For example, the number of diabetics is increasing, in my country, while awareness and education can prevent or keep the speed of incidence of diabetes or heart disease. Such steps toward health education will help to reduce the cost of treatment and the number of patients in near future. Secondly, Several governments combat some diseases such as poor sanitation, viruses, and heart diseases. While prevention help to reduce the infection of such problems, if governments do some actions. For example, some governments can make more parks, gyms and fitness buildings with lower costs rather than making more health centres. The more people exercise, the fewer heart disease and diabetes will happen. This may enable informing and educating the public about their health, and above all, by allocating a portion of the budget to preventive measures to heighten public awareness. In conclusion, I agree with increasing the budget for educating people having a healthy lifestyle and doing preventive measures rather than spending on equipping hospitals and treatment.