The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

There is a debate going on whether the English language will become the only language that people will speak globally. In my opinion this will not be the case, but even if it is I think this would be great for the whole world. I am going to present the advantages and disadvantages regarding this topic. The most beneficial advantage would be that everyone could talk to anyone they want easily. Nowadays when we travel to other countries we hope that maybe they will speak English but this does not happen all the time. And sometimes when we are in foreign countries it is really critical to understand others. Also, if everyone could speak English this would make everyone lives slightly easier, because sometimes when just a foreigner comes up and asks something in a language you do not know, then it is not pleasant, because you try to speak with body language when really you do not understand it and it all just gets a bit messy. On the contrary, if everyone would start to speak English, all the cultures could start to vanish, because languages were the most important part of every country's culture and future generations could start to forget about their motherland traditions, history and legacy. All in all, there are advantages such as everyone understands each person and it is easy to communicate with others, but also if countries start to forget their own language their culture could also start to die out and overtime the legacy and history of the country’s could be forgotten.