Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Education has been an essential part of civilization over the years. However, lliteracy illiteracy is still a concerning problem for some countries in the world. This essay will discuss about two causes and three effects of this matter. To begin with, it is widely agreed that poverty is a main cause of inability to read and write. Children who has been brought up by indigent parents tend to postpone education while earning a daily bread. It is possible that to have some meal instead of study supplies is more important in this kind of situation. On the other hand, some people have a chance to study, yet not the ability. Those ones with reading disabilities such as dyslexia a lot of difficulties while reading and writing. Due to a research, one out of every ten people in the United States are illiterate, and three quarters of them are dyslexic. The effects of this problem on society can be a quite hazardous. Firstly, some argue that illiteracy impacts an individual’s opportunities to fully participate in a democratic society. A person who can not read or write might struggle to know their rights and to find a job. In addition, this may lead someone to have low self- esteem and not to be able to express himself confidently due to lack of information. Finally, people struggling with literacy are more likely to be unemployed because of their education level. Furthermore, there is a fact that they are being paid two times lower than the others who work with them. In conclusion, poverty and reading disability seem to be the main causes, and they affect people’s future socially and economically.