Shortage of houses has become a severe problem in the cities today and only the government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

Nowadays, overpopulation has caused major problems such as a lack of housing and accommodation. In fact, housing shortages impact of living conditions in society. Some people believe that government is entirely responsible for resolving this issue. Personally, I totally agree that the government should control this situation. Firstly, the constructions of houses is a large process and this process demands a great deal of money and resources. This procedure involves buying land, providing materials, such as concrete, cement and wood, and finally build the house. All the expenses in these different steps should be funded by tax payments. For instance, in recent years, Dublin don’t have houses to live in the city because of the overpopulation. I am looking for an apartment there and It is impossible, I have to live one hour from the city centre. Moreover, in most of the cities, housing is an issue that need to be controlled for two main reasons. First of all, there are many abandoned areas in some cities that could be converted into houses or public spaces. But normally, most of these spaces build a private space that have a negative impact for the city than a positive one. Secondly, housing needs a planning and regulation. There are many green areas that need to preserve instead of building there. In my opinion, these places are an integral part of an urban area that improves living conditions. Therefore, the government could forbid the construction in these parts of the city. In conclusion, the government should develop more areas to build more houses in parts that are abandoned.