Some people claim that not enough of the wastes from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, some of the citizens illustrate that rubbish from household was not fully recycled, and the only solution to this is by the government which legislate laws about recycling. Personally, I believe that with governments' help, a great improvement can be seen. However, it is not the only cure for the phenomenon of under-recycling. Legislation can be powerful for any requirment from governments, including increase the percentage of recycling. Punishments come after the legal requirements can be penalty with money or imprisonment, which both had great prohibition on people. Nevertheless, residents can gradually desensitise with the punishments if the fine was not a big deal to them, which the recycling rate will not decrease eventually. As a result, we should progress the recycling rate with different aspects, such as educational and technological viewpoints. Take schooling for example, it can be an effective way in reducing waste if we enhance pupils in terms of environmental protection and the severity of global warming. Thus, children will know how important the recycling is. Moreover, technology can be helpful in the part of reducing waste. Engineers can develop systems that can simplify the process of recycling, which may increase the willingness of recycling of residents. Also, scientists can invent some ingredients that can break down themselves without causing contamination. Last but not least, business industry can manufacture good-looking eco-friendly products, which may lower the usage of disposable items of consumers. Even though legislation can be influential to the percentage of recycling waste, I believe that there are still many solutions to this problem, which legal requirements will not be the only way to fix the situation.