Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The widespread use of smart gadgets is appealing to adolescents these days as a result of globalization. Moreover,it can provide them with virtual atmosphere they dream. There are a vast number of merits and demerits associated with this trend has become a controversial debate.I think the drawbacks of overusing smartphones by children such as sleep deprivation and lack of concentration outweigh benefits including being up to date or learning new things through out social media. As a result of modernization smartphones has become a significant element in people’s lives and parents mostly find their children completely gripped by smartphones. Because they want to keep up with latest information and trans throughout using their phones. Also, children have more inclination towards being engaged by their smartphones phones which make a virtual atmosphere for them where they can find it easy to fulfill their desire. For example, children who have a sense of depression can meet their need to uplift their spirits by surfing on the Internet or playing a game via their smartphones. There are many disadvantages related to this trend most important of which are sleep deprivation and shortage of adequate concentration. Children who are always gripped by smartphones may well be awake after midnight which definitely leads to sleep deprivation. Also, as they spend most of their time on online apps, they find it difficult to concentrate on their lessons because they are always working on their mobiles or even thinking about the apps they use on a regular basis. For example, there is perfectly proofed evidence that children who have easy and unrestricted access to their phones 24 hours a day, get lower mark in their exams compared with ones who are permitted to spend limited amount of time on virtual space. Although, this trend brings about many advantages such as being up to date and acquire new knowledge. Smartphones assist children to go hand- in - hand with technology which is essential in this modern epoch. Besides, it helps children to learn new things ranging from subjects related to their lessons to how to play an instrument. However, in my opinion children should attend to classes and have face-to-face communication rather than sitting at home to do all their tasks by their phone. Having said that, I believe it will definitely have adverse consequences on them. For example, many children who are spending the most proportion of their time on their mobile find it difficult to communicate with their families. In conclusion, there are many reasons that encourage children to spend a lot of time on their phones, most important of which are globalization and senses of satisfaction. Although this trend associated with some advantages, in no way do I think it is advantageous trend. I hope governments try to raise public awareness about consequences of overusing of smartphones by children in the long run.