In some countries, it is now illegal for employers to reject job applicants because of their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

There are several rules in many nations restricting employers from rejecting prospective job seekers based on age limits. This is a negative development because It will not only limit several companies' efficiency and productivity but will also make individuals become nonchalant with their ambitions at an early age. Instead, decisions on age limits should be individualized based on intending job position of an applicant. There are several reasons why not being able to deny a job applicant based on their age is disadvantageous. An important one is that It can limit several companies' production efficiency. In the sense that, if a firm is occupied majorly by aged individuals, there are lesser young energetic people to work and achieve the company's goals. As a result of this, they may not be able to meet up with their target, hence, reduction in production and profit. For example, Coca-cola company finds youths more suitable for their factory job based on the energy demand. Furthermore, in addition, putting no limit to the age at which an employer can employ an individual can have negative feedback on the youth. To elaborate, instead of them chasing their dream job when they are still much younger, they may not only become unmotivated but also live their life aimlessly with the hope that they can always find a top-paying job at any age of their life consequently leading to regrets later in life. For instance, many young graduates seize opportunities to further their studies so as to secure a top job while they are still young. Hence, they are able to build their lives and homes as early as possible. In summary, the idea of putting a restriction on several companies from denying employees because of age is not totally plausible. I think this should rather be based on an individual's skill, academic background and the specified job descriptions. Just like elderly people are more suited to work as carers than young individuals